Scores Upcoming Results
ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2009 is scheduled to take place in England. The final of 2009 ICC T20 World Cup will have Lord's (London) as its venue.

Twenty20 World Cup 2009

The second tournament of ICC Twenty20 World, 2009 World Cup has been scheduled for the month of June. It will take place in England and have 12 teams, comprising of nine Test-playing nations and three qualifiers. Initially, just like the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 tournament, the 12 teams included only two qualifiers. However, Zimbabwe's opting out of the tournament, of own volition, led to the creation of a vacant space, which was then filled by the qualifier Scotland.

Though the venue of Twenty20 World Cup 2009 was England right from the very start, in early January 2008, there was a rumor that the venue could be changed. The reason for this was British government's banning of Zimbabwe from the 2009 tour. However, rumor never turned into reality and England continues to be the venue of ICC T20 World Cup 2009. The matches will take place in Lord's (London), Kennington Oval (London) and Trent Bridge (Nottingham).

As per the schedule of 2009 ICC Twenty20 World Cup, the opening match as well as the final will be played at Lord's (London). One of the semi-finals will take place at Kennington Oval (London), while the other will have Trent Bridge (Nottingham) as its venue. Trent Bridge beat Old Trafford Cricket Ground as the third venue for ICC T20 World Cup 2009, mainly because of its closer proximity to the two London venues - Lord's and Kennington.

ICC World Twenty20 England, 2009 Participating Teams
  • Bangladesh (Group A)
  • India (Group A)
  • Ireland (Group A) - Qualifier
  • England (Group B)
  • Netherlands (Group B) - Qualifier
  • Pakistan (Group B)
  • Australia (Group C)
  • Sri Lanka (Group C)
  • West Indies (Group C)
  • New Zealand (Group D)
  • Scotland (Group D) - Qualifier
  • South Africa (Group D)
  • 5 June 2009: England v Netherlands (Lord's, London)
  • 6 June 2009: Scotland v New Zealand (Kennington Oval, London)
  • 6 June 2009: Australia v West Indies (Kennington Oval, London)
  • 6 June 2009: Bangladesh v India (Trent Bridge, Nottingham)
  • 7 June 2009: Scotland v South Africa (Kennington Oval, London)
  • 7 June 2009: England v Pakistan (Kennington Oval, London)
  • 8 June 2009: Bangladesh v Ireland (Trent Bridge, Nottingham)
  • 8 June 2009: Australia v Sri Lanka (Trent Bridge, Nottingham)
  • 9 June 2009: Pakistan v Netherlands (Lord's, London)
  • 9 June 2009: New Zealand v South Africa (Lord's, London)
  • 10 June 2009: India v Ireland (Trent Bridge, Nottingham)
  • 10 June 2009: Sri Lanka v West Indies (Trent Bridge, Nottingham))
Scores Upcoming Results
T20 WC 2022 T20 WC 2021
World T20 2016 World T20 2014
World T20 2012 World T20 2010
World T20 2009 World T20 2007
Statistics T20 WC History
Teams 2012 World Cup 2009
Final 2009 Winner 2009
2009 Group Twenty20 Cricket
T20 Origin Twenty20 Rules
2007 Statistics 2007 World Cup Group
Winners 2007 Women T20 Winner 2009