Scores Upcoming Results
ICC World Twenty20 is the international championship of T20 cricket. The first Twenty20 Cricket World Cup was held in 2007, in South Africa. and last 20/20 World Cup in India in 2014

Twenty20 World Cup

ICC World Twenty20 can be described as the international championship of Twenty20 cricket, which is commonly abridged as T20 cricket. As the name suggests, the game is organized by ICC (International Cricket Council), the governing body of cricket in the world. The inaugural tournament of the ICC T20 World Cup was held in the year 2007, in South Africa.

Twenty20 Cricket World Cup 2007 stretched on from 11th September to 24th September, with India winning the championship, after defeating Pakistan by 5 runs (in Johannesburg). Just like the inaugural event had, till 2012 of the Twenty20 Cricket World Cup comprise of 12 teams, which have include all the Test-playing nations. But since 2014 played in Bangladesh team increased to 14.

The event has generally been held every two years, although there is a four-year gap between the next two scheduled tournaments (2016 in India and 2020 in Australia). All matches played are accorded Twenty20 International status.

Talking about the qualification for playing the ICC Twenty20 World Cup, all the Test-playing nations receive the same automatically. As for the rest of the places, they are filled by ICC associate member nations, also known as qualifiers, on the basis of a qualification tournament. .

The hosts of ICC T20 Cricket World Cup are decided on the basis of the bids made by the nations interested in holding the championship. It is the executive committee of International Cricket Council (ICC) that votes on the bids, selecting the host country. It had been decided that the first two tournaments will be held in South Africa and England, since they had opted the T20 format in the earliest stages only. The hosts of ICC Twenty20 World Cup, till 2020, have and will be:
Main Twenty20 World Cup Records (Individual & Team). Full statistics.


  • Most Runs: Mahela Jayawardene - 1016 (31 matches)
  • Highest Average: Matthew Hayden - 88.33 (6 matches)
  • Highest strike rate: Imran Nazir - 150.00 (13 matches) (2014)
  • Highest Score: Brendon McCullum v Bangladesh - 123 (58 balls) (2012)
  • Highest Partnership: Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara v West Indies - 166 (100 balls) (second wicket) (2010)
  • Most Runs in a Tournament: Virat Kohli- 319 (6 matches) (2014)
  • Most runs in an over: Yuvraj Singh against Stuard Broad - 36 (2007)


  • Most wickets: Shahid Afridi - 39 (34 matches) (2007-2016)
  • Best Figures: Ajantha Mendis v Zimbabwe - 6/8 (4 overs) (18 Sep 2012)
  • Most Wickets in a Tournament: Ajantha Mendis - 15 (6 matches) (2012)


  • Most Dismissals (wicket-keeper): by Kamran Akmal - 30 (12 + 18) in 30 matches (2007-2014)
  • Most Catches (fielder): AB de Villiers 21 (26 matches) (2007-2014)


  • Highest Score: 260/6, by Sri Lanka vs Kenya (2007)
  • Lowest Score: 39 all out, by Netherlands vs Sri Lanka (2014)

Scores Upcoming Results
T20 WC 2022 T20 WC 2021
World T20 2016 World T20 2014
World T20 2012 World T20 2010
World T20 2009 World T20 2007
Statistics T20 WC History
Teams 2012 World Cup 2009
Final 2009 Winner 2009
2009 Group Twenty20 Cricket
T20 Origin Twenty20 Rules
2007 Statistics 2007 World Cup Group
Winners 2007 Women T20 Winner 2009