Scores Upcoming Results
With the final of ICC World Twenty20 2009 being held on 21st June 2009 at Lord's London, the team of Pakistan has emerged as the winner of T20 WC 2009.

Twenty20 World Cup 2009 Winner

The second session T20 World Cup was played on 21st June 2009 at Lords, London and with it; emerged the second winner of the cricket championship that took birth in 2007. In the second T20 World Cup, Pakistan became the champions. The runners-up of the last T20 World Championship, Pakistan beat Sri Lanka in the final, held at Lord's (London), by 8 wickets and with 8 balls remaining. It was the duo of Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik, which steered the team to victory. Shahid Afridi was later declared as the 'Man of the Match'.

In the final match, Sri Lanka batted first and managed to make a respectable score of 138/6. However, this was not before the team lost majority of its top scorers, including Tilshan, Jayawardene and Jayasuriya, to excellent bowling by Pakistan bowlers, especially Abdul Razzak (who took 3 wickets). However, Kumara Sangakkara was the one who carried the match ahead, almost solely on his shoulders. It was his efforts that led Sri Lanka to reach the decent score that it had.

Winner 2009After Sri Lanka's innings came to anend, it was the time for Pakistan to do the chasing. Kamran Akmal came as an opener and made an early exit, but not before scoring a quick fire 37. Soon, it was the time for Shoaib Malik and Shahid Afridi to take the game forward and they did so in an excellent manner. While Afridi scored a 54 from 40 deliveries, Shoaib had 22 runs, off 20 balls. Finally, the two batsmen took their team to victory eight balls before their 20 overs came to an end.

  • Winning Team: Pakistan
  • Man of the Match: Shahid Afridi (Afridi 54*, 1 for 20 runs)
  • Man-of-the-series: Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)
  • Final Venue: Lord's, London (June 21, 2009)

Scores Upcoming Results
T20 WC 2022 T20 WC 2021
World T20 2016 World T20 2014
World T20 2012 World T20 2010
World T20 2009 World T20 2007
Statistics T20 WC History
Teams 2012 World Cup 2009
Final 2009 Winner 2009
2009 Group Twenty20 Cricket
T20 Origin Twenty20 Rules
2007 Statistics 2007 World Cup Group
Winners 2007 Women T20 Winner 2009