Scores Upcoming Results
Twenty20 World Cup 2007 Final took place on 24th September 2007, in Johannesburg. India was the winner of the ICC T20 World Cup 2007.

Twenty20 World Cup 2007 Final

Twenty20 is a shortened form of cricket, in which only 20 overs are played per innings, making it a 40-over match in toto, if played till the end by both the teams. The international championship of Twenty20, also known as T20, ICC World Twenty20 had its inaugural tournament in the year 2007. The tournament was played by the ten Test-plying nations, apart from Kenya and Scotland, the finalists of the 2007 WCL Division One tournament. In final match of ICC T20 World Cup 2007, India emerged as the winner, after beating Pakistan.

Twenty20 World Cup 2007 Final
The final of 2007 ICC Twenty20 World Cup was played between India and Pakistan. India reached the finals after beating Australia, by 15 runs, at Kingsmead, Durban. On the other hand, Pakistan made it to the finals after winning against New Zealand, by 6 wickets, in Newlands Cricket Ground, Cape Town. The final match took place on 24th September 2007, in Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg.

Winner 2007On the day of the final, India won the toss and elected to bat first, since the pitch was considered to be batsman-friendly. By the end of twenty overs, India was 157/5, with Umar Gul having taken the crucial wickets of both Yuvraj Singh and Mahendra Singh Dhoni. The only player who had played a decent innings was Gautam Gambhir, who made 75 runs off 54 balls. With a low score to pursue, Pakistan had an edge from the very start.

As the game progressed, Sreesanth's 21-run over tilted the game more in the favor of Pakistan. It was only Irfan Pathan and Joginder Sharma who bowled tight overs, to balance the odds a bit. By the end of the 16th over, Pakistan was short of 54 runs. Then, Harbhajan Singh came to bowl and Misbah-ul-Haq hit 3 sixes off his over. As if this wasn't enough, even Sreesanth managed to give 2 sixes in his next over.

With one over remaining and one last wicket in hand, Pakistan needed just 13 runs to win. At the start of the final over, Joginder Sharma bowled a wide ball, which was soon followed by a dot ball. Not much time later, Misbah went for a six, leaving Pakistan need just 6 runs to win, with four balls remaining. As Misbah tried to go for another six, he was caught at short fine-leg by Sreesanth. With this, Pakistan was all out for 152 runs and India had won the match, by 5 runs, as well as the championship.

  • Winning Team: India
  • Man of the Match: Irfan Pathan (3 wickets, for 16 runs)
  • Man of the Series: Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)

Scores Upcoming Results
T20 WC 2022 T20 WC 2021
World T20 2016 World T20 2014
World T20 2012 World T20 2010
World T20 2009 World T20 2007
Statistics T20 WC History
Teams 2012 World Cup 2009
Final 2009 Winner 2009
2009 Group Twenty20 Cricket
T20 Origin Twenty20 Rules
2007 Statistics 2007 World Cup Group
Winners 2007 Women T20 Winner 2009